Skip to main content

Dutch tennis returns veteran group

March 28, 2011

Photo by Jim Mulcahy Members of the St. Marys Area Flying Dutch tennis team are, from left to right, front row: Eric Uhl, Dalton Gennocro and Jarrod Lipsey. Second row: D.J. Challingsworth, Michael Fox, Evan Lepovetsky and John Mosebarger. Third row: Brandon Romain, Brandon Orr, Nathan Hansen, Nick Keller and Dylan Wiesner. Back row: Michael Brennen, Thomas Murmann and Keith Meyer. Missing when photo was taken was Gary Fledderman.

The St. Marys Area Flying Dutch tennis team will rely on their experience during the 2011 tennis season.
Head coach Sue Lepovetsky returns 10 letter winners from a team that captured the District 9 Class AA championship in 2010.
The returning letter winners include seniors Nathan Hansen, Brandon Romain, Keith Meyer, Dylan Wiesner, Brandon Orr, Michael Brennen and Nick Keller, juniors Michael Fox and Evan Lepovetsky and sophomore Dalton Gennocro.
According to Coach Lepovetsky, “Having everyone back except for one person is one of our strengths. We have an experienced group.”
Lepovetsky said the team’s goals were, “To do our best and to have a good showing at both singles and doubles Districts. To send players in both singles and doubles to states and to defend our District 9 (team) title in tennis.”
Her squad consists of seniors Nathan Hansen, Brandon Romain, Keith Meyer, Dylan Wiesner, Thomas Murmann, Brandon Orr, Michael Brennen and Nick Keller; juniorsMichael Fox, Evan Lepovetsky, D.J. Challingsworth and John Mosebarger; sophomores Jarrod Lipsey, Dalton Gennocro and Gary Fledderman; and freshman Eric Uhl.
“You never know from year to year how anyone is going to be and what talent they might have, so you have to be prepared to beat any team you play,” said Lepovetsky when asked which team will give the Dutch the most competition.
“I hope that they guys have a great season and I know that whatever they decide to accomplish among themselves, they will accomplish these goals,” she added.
Lepovetsky’s assistant coaches this year will be Denny Hansen and Shane Mosier.

View more articles in:
College Basketball Roundup- Sweet 16 Edition Midwest Region The Midwest Regional final was held at...
Elk County Catholic High School held its 2014-2015 Winter Athletic Awards program on Tuesday...
The St. Marys Area High School held their Winter Sports Awards Program Tuesday night honoring those...
Jeffrey Scott Buck Jr., an 18-year-old volunteer firefighter with Lawrence Township Fire Company,...