Leadership Elk County Fifth Class Begins

Leadership Elk County (LEC) held its fifth annual kick-off event at the Diamond View Restaurant and Lounge on September 13, 2011. There were many in attendance from the LEC advisory board and alumni, as well as this year’s 12 participants and sponsors.  Dr. William Conrad from the Stackpole-Hall Foundation  welcomed the group and explained the results of the 2006 Stackpole-Hall Foundation’s Community Assessment, which reflected the need for leadership in Elk County. “We feel leadership is the most important component for the development of a community; therefore, we need to provide opportunities for leadership in Elk County," Conrad said. "On behalf of the Stackpole-Hall Foundation, we have been delighted to fund such a project like the Leadership Elk County program.” Northwest Savings Bank was the sponsor for the evening’s event. The financial institution has been tremendous supporters of the program, both financially and with class participants. Four participants over the five years of the program have been from Northwest Savings Bank.The first session, held on September 14, was the orientation session. This day allowed participants to preview the program expectations, explore their own leadership styles and understand the group dynamics. The remaining eight sessions will include Tourism & Environment, Communication Skills, History of Elk County, Health and Human Services, Government, Economic Development, Education & Arts and a trip to Harrisburg. This very hands-on program will show the participants what Elk County is all about, from the services available to what the county has to offer to its residents.This year’s 2011-2012 Leadership Elk County participants are: Natalie Aiello, PSU Cooperative Extension; Frank Beimel, Precision Compacted Components; Phoebe Bonomo, St. Marys Area Chamber of Commerce; Kelly Carver, Elk County Council on the Arts; Jennifer Grotzinger, Elk Regional Health Center; Brandi Hanes, Keystone Elk Country Alliance; Kate Lomax, Community Education Council of Elk and Cameron Counties; John MacDonald, Northwest Savings Bank; Louis Radkowski, Accenture; Missy Shirey, Dickinson Center, Inc.; Amy Wehler, Self Determination Housing Project of PA Inc.; and David Whiteman, Contact Technologies. For further information about the LEC program, contact the Community Education Council at 781-3437.