Skip to main content

Luke Johnson sweeps Friday matches at high power range

August 14, 2011

Greg Engel was the master class winner in high power standard rifle Friday afternoon. Photo by Greg Reedy.

Luke Johnson (Marysville) swept both matches Friday in the high power matches at the Ridgway Rifle Club.
Johnson won the standard rifle match with a score of 35. Laura Goetsch (Whites Creek, Tenn.) took second with a 34 and William Zander (Houston, Texas) was third with a 33.
Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was the master class champion with a score of 31. Mark Varner (Lewistown) was second with a 30 and Mark Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) took third with 30. Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was fourth with a 30 and Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) had a fifth-place mark with a 29. Gabriel Guerra (Monterrey, Mexico) was sixth with a 29. Dennis Martinen (Yakima, Wash.) had a seventh-place finish with a score of 28. Fred Kielbowick (Ridgway) was eighth with a 28 and Ben Marzella (Ridgway) was ninth at 28. Wally Howard (Hazel Hurst) was 10th with a 28.
Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was the AAA class winner with a 33. Susan Peery (Churchton, Md.) was second at 31 and Jerry Tureau (Baton Rouge, La.) was third at 29. Matt Pavlik (Russellton) was fourth at 28 and Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) had a fifth-place finish at 28. John Shaw (Blackwood, N.J.) was sixth at 27 and Anthony Finn (Bracken Ridge, Australia) finished seventh at 27. Brian Wakefield (Smethport) placed eighth at 27 and Larry Medler (Taylor, Mich.) was ninth at 25.
Brian Launer (Johnsonburg) was the AA class winner with a score of 29. Mary Watkins (Merritt Island, Fla.) was runner-up with a 28 and Bruce Finley (Calhoun, La.) was third with a 25. Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) took fourth with a 24 and Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) took fifth with a 24. John Vandorick (Factoryville) took sixth with a 23 and Owen Peters (Richmond, Va.) took seventh at 22. Adam Hostetler (Lebanon, Pa.) took eighth at 22 and Harold Frey (Waterloo, Ontario, Canada) was ninth with a 21.
John McInchak (Erie) was the A class winner with a score of 19. Frederick Janeczko (Sterling Heights, Mich.) was second with an 18 and Larry Armstrong (Export) was third with a 16. Nick Opperman (Lalucia, Durban, South Africa) was fourth with a 15 and Jim Pendleton (Markdale, Ontario, Canada) placed fifth with a 13.
F. Woody Walk (Metairie, La.) was the B class winner with a 19.

View more articles in:
Elk County Catholic High School held its 2014-2015 Winter Athletic Awards program on Tuesday...
The St. Marys Area High School held their Winter Sports Awards Program Tuesday night honoring those...
Big Dance Roundup and Look Ahead   Last week we gave you a preview of the tournament and some...
Jeffrey Scott Buck Jr., an 18-year-old volunteer firefighter with Lawrence Township Fire Company,...