Skip to main content

Smallbore standard rifle holds second day of shooting

August 14, 2011

David Leedy was the AAA class winner in smallbore standard rifle and smallbore hunting rifle on Monday. Photo by Greg Reedy

The NRA National Silhouette Championships continued Tuesday with the second day of three days of shootings in smallbore standard rifle at the Ridgway Rifle Club smallbore rifle.
Cathy Winstead-Severin (Joplin, Mo.) and Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) each had scores of 38 and Gabriel Guerra (Monterrey, Mexico) was third with a 37.
Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was the master class winner Monday with a score of 35. Alan Bruce Finley (Calhoun, La.) was second with a 35 and Ron Bain (New Haven, Mo.) was third with a 35. Ben Marzella (Ridgway) was fourth with a 34 and Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) took fifth with a 34. Wally Howard (Hazel Hurst) was sixth with a 34 and Laura Goetsch (Whites Creek, Tenn.) had a seventh-place finish with a 34. Greg Engel (Flossmoor, Ill.) was eighth at 33 and Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) took ninth at 33.
In AAA class, David Leedy (Rebersburg) won with a mark of 35. Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was second at 34 and Enrique Kuess Sr. (Laredo, Texas) was third with a 31. Jim Pendleton (Markdale, Ontario, Canada) took fourth with a 31 and Carlos Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was fifth at 30. Scott Lurie (Browntown, Va.) was sixth at a mark of 30 and Larry Armstrong (Export) took seventh with a score of 30. Glenn Hughes (Birmingham, Ala.) was eighth with a score of 30 and Kelly Engel (Brighton, Mass.) was ninth at 30.
In AA class, Mark Latham (Washington, Mo.) was the winner with a score of 32. Tyler S. Bonson (Reedsville) was second with a score of 30 and Kathryn Grigg (Shelby, N.C.) was third with a score of 27. David Gillispie (Reedsville, W. Va.) was fourth at 25 and Hunter Hinds (Loganton) had a fifth-place finish at 25. Tyrus Grim (Glen Rock) was sixth at 24 and Jake Sprague (Cary, N.C.) was seventh at 24. Thomas Danias Sr. (Erie) was eighth at 24 and David Wester (Combine, Texas) was ninth at 24. Patrick Petrillo (Hollywood, Fla.) was 10th with a score of 23.
In A class, Ryan Labenne (Ridgway) was the class winner with a score of 24. Nick Opperman (Lalucia, Durban, South Africa) was second at 20 and Alex Pierce (Lewistown) was third with a score of 19. Kelli Grim (Clarksburg, Md.) was fourth with a score of 18. Adam Braverman (Sedalia, Mo.) was fifth at 16.
Deon Germishuizen (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) won B class with a score of 20.
The final day of smallbore competition begins at 9 a.m. Tuesday morning. v

View more articles in:
Elk County Catholic High School held its 2014-2015 Winter Athletic Awards program on Tuesday...
The St. Marys Area High School held their Winter Sports Awards Program Tuesday night honoring those...
Big Dance Roundup and Look Ahead   Last week we gave you a preview of the tournament and some...
Jeffrey Scott Buck Jr., an 18-year-old volunteer firefighter with Lawrence Township Fire Company,...