St. Marys Area holds winter sports banquet

The St. Marys Area High School Winter Sports Banquet was held Tuesday night honoring those student-athletes who participated in boys’ and girls’ basketball, gymnastics, wrestling and boys’ and girls’ swimming, along with the varsity cheerleaders.Following dinner in the cafeteria, the group adjourned to Carpin Auditorium for the awards portion of the program.Activities Director Terry Straub welcomed everyone to the affair in the auditorium.Straub, along with high school principal Josh Williams, presented the swim certificates to those swimmers in attendance since 14 of the 28-member squad, along with all the coaches, were at the PIAA Class AA meet at Bucknell University in Lewisburg. Certificates were presented to Shannon Krieg, Kelsey Bonifay, Gideon Woelfel and Alec Foster.Straub noted that the swim awards will be presented at either the Elk County Catholic Awards Program next week or the season-ending team party.Irene McCandless, head gymnastics coach, acknowledged her assistant coach Angie Miller.McCandless said that her team finished with a 5-3 record and had the highest team average in school history of 128 points. They finished second at the Central Pa. Gymnastics League competition and second at the state team competition. Both trophies were presented to Straub, who accepted them on behalf of the school district.Coach McCandless said that six gymnasts qualified for individual state competition, with four of them receiving medals. The coach recognized her seniors in attendance, Molly Eshbach, Bobbi Fox and Megan Longhi.Varsity letters were presented to Molly Eshbach, Bobbi Fox, Justin Huey, Megan Longhi, Mackenzie Neureiter, Michaela Sorg and Abby Wittman. A junior varsity letter was presented to Laurel Pierotti.Coach McCandless presented co-MVPs to Molly Eshbach and Megan Longhi.Head wrestling coach Dominic Surra gave the usual thank-yous and congratulated all the winter sports teams on their successful seasons.He said that they knew coming into this season that they faced an uphill battle due to the inexperience of the squad. All they asked of the kids was improvement in each match.The team had three District 9 champions and seven who qualified for Regionals. Last year they had a 4-10 record and this year finished 8-9. Six of those nine losses came by six points or less.He gave a brief summary of how the team fared at their tournaments.Varsity letters were presented to Jimmy Antonelli, Trenton Bowers, Michael Brennen, Josh Cameroni, Alex Coudriet, Alex Feldbauer, Bill Gabor, Alex Geitner, Allan Gursky, Kevin Hoy, Darren Lyon, Joe McLaughlin, Sam Miller, Evan Smith, Damien Wensel, Kyle Wolfel and Tyler Yetzer.Junior varsity letters were presented to Ben Cheatle and Dan Snelick. Also recognized were managers Amber Meyer and Brandi Meyer.Surra presented co-MVP Awards to Jimmy Antonelli and Kevin Hoy.Cheerleading advisor Justina Space, assisted by junior high coach Angel Leader, recognized the following members of the varsity squad: Karly Bish, Sara Brouse, Lacey Hanes, Jolene Herbstritt, Cheyenne Hoffman, Casey Johnston, Allison Kosmiski, Allison McCurdy, Tori Rooker, Caylin Smith, Alana Stauffer, Emily Slaughenhaupt and Paige Werner.Junior high boys’ basketball coach Seth Rhed was assisted by Dutch head coach Mark Guido in recognizing the freshman basketball team consisting of Josh Burns, Conner DeMonte, Evan Gabor, Lucas Lovenduski, Tyler Mancuso, Nicholas Proesl, Owen Schreiber and Tyler Updyke along with statisticians Larissa Chicola and Cassidy Sicheri.Mark Guido, head boys’ basketball coach, acknowledged his assistant coach Jason Schreiber, who assisted in presenting the awards.Guido said that last year the Dutch were 2-18 and this year they finished with a 17-8 record. They were 2-10 in league play last year and 6-4 this year. He said this year’s team was made stronger by each player, all of whom were equally valuable to the team.Varsity letters were presented to Rocco Harshbarger, Ryan Hockman, Ryan Mancuso, Justin Quiggle, Dylan Reigel, Ryan Uhl, Bob Vollmer, Sam Guido, Michael Fox, Jordan Weinzierl and Jimmy Werner.Junior varsity letters were presented to Justin Beimel, Caleb Bennett, Shajuan Carrero, Quinn Cunningham, Kyle Gaton, Matthew Kronenwetter, Logan Gilmore, Brett Lanzel, Nate McFadden, Mitchell Ovell and Brandon Vollmer.Also recognized were statisticians Chelsea Luchini and Carley McMackin and filmers Trenton and Luke Schreiber.Guido presented the MVP Award to the entire varsity squad.Bob Swanson, Lady Dutch basketball head coach, said that he enjoyed the season and the team. He said this season was great. It was a year to be remembered, according to the coach. The team finished with a 22-2 record. He recognized the four seniors, Mandy Gerarge, Rachel Walker, Shelby Zomcik and Kayla Hoohuli. In their four years, the Lady Dutch have had a record of 87 wins and only 12 losses. Swanson said they have raised the standard for Lady Dutch basketball.Varsity letters were presented to Jenna Anderson, Sloan Foster, Adair Gennocro, Mandy Gerarge, Kayla Hoohuli, Kiana Hoohuli, Rachel Krieg, Rachel Walker, DeAnna Yost and Shelby Zomcik.Junior varsity letters were presented to Cheyenne Cherry, Abbey Cribbs, Cassie Daniels, Jessie Donachy, Mia Keener, Becky Krieg, Sam McCabe, Katlyn McCandless, Kiana Schatz and Whitney Taylor. Also recognized were statisticians Michelle Bauer and Rachel Bauer.Swanson presented the Dedication Award to Kayla Hoohuli, Jenna Anderson and Kiana Hoohuli. The Rebounding Award was presented to Kayla Hoohuli. The Foul Shooting Award was presented to Kayla Hoohuli and the Most Improved Award was presented to Kiana Hoohuli.The MVP Offense Award was presented to Adair Gennocro. The MVP Defense Award was presented to Mandy Gerarge. The Overall MVP Award was presented to Kayla Hoohuli.Longtime Lady Dutch supporter and former Lady Dutch assistant coach Doc Lyons presented awards to Coach Swanson and Kayla Hoohuli.The cheerleaders presented scrapbooks to the senior members of the boys’ and girls’ basketball teams.The evening closed with high school principal Josh Williams expressing thanks on behalf of the administration to the coaches and athletes for their hard work.