Skip to main content

St. Marys schools earn Keystone awards

February 24, 2011

SMASD Superintendent Ann Kearney presented principals with Keystone Achievement Awards during a recent school board meeting. Shown, left to right, are: Kearney; Connie Timashenka director of student services; Joe Schlimm, SMAHS assistant principal; Jim Wortman, SMAMS principal; Bob Grumley, South St. Marys Street Elementary principal; Joe Collins, director of curriculum, instruction and achievement; and Christine Kuhar, Fox Township and Bennetts Valley elementary principal. Photo by Amy Cherry.

St. Marys Area School District principals were recently presented with Keystone Achievement Awards, signifying each school's achievement in reaching adequate yearly progress (AYP).
South St. Marys Street, Fox Township and Bennetts Valley Elementary schools, along with St. Marys Area Middle and High schools, were among the state's schools receiving the awards.
"Just as schools should proudly display trophies for athletic and extracurricular accomplishments, displaying a Keystone Achievement Award is a way to acknowledge the school's academic accomplishments," Kearney said. "These awards reinforce the hard work that our schools are doing and the success their students are achieving. Keystones reflect the commitment of students, families, teachers and the entire education community."
This year's awards were given to public schools who achieved AYP during the 2008-09 and the 2009-10 school years.

The St. Marys Little League Baseball Minor League all stars opened play in the District 10...
The St. Marys Little League Softball junior all stars defeated Brookville 14-4 in 6 innings Tuesday...
The Ridgway Legion baseball team defeated Fox Township 10-5 Tuesday night.
Jeffrey Scott Buck Jr., an 18-year-old volunteer firefighter with Lawrence Township Fire Company,...