County, municipal candidates win nominations

With all 33 precincts reporting, the three incumbent Elk County commissioners won party nominations Tuesday in the primary election. June H. Sorg led Democratic voting with 2,549 votes. Fellow Democrat, Commissioner Ronald T. Beimel, followed with 2,146 votes. Lyle Garner was left out of the mix with 940 votes, as was Dave Sallack with 755 votes. There were 271 write-in votes cast.Incumbent commissioner Daniel R. Freeburg led Republican voting with 1,636 votes. Freeburg will be accompanied on the ballot by Janis E. Kemmer, a second-term jury commissioner, with 1,270 votes. Peggy Sprague Aharrah, former chief clerk for Elk County, tallied only 997 votes; there also were 176 write-in votes cast.In the general election slated for Nov. 8, Beimel, Freeburg, Kemmer and Sorg will appear on the ballot as candidates for Elk County Commissioner. Voters will choose two. The top three vote-getters from the four candidates on the ballot will form the next board of commissioners.Several candidates vying for office in St. Marys and surrounding municipalities also won their party's nomination for the Nov. 8 general election. Democratic nominees for St. Marys City Council will be Thomas Farley and Greg Gebauer, who finished second by an extremely narrow margin. There were also 160 write-in votes cast. Republican City Council nominees are Gwen M. Auman, Nedward Jacob and Jerry Marshall, with 74 write-in votes also cast. James A. McCluskey won the Republican nomination for Benezette Township Supervisor, 6-year term, with 17 write-in votes also cast. There were 35 Democratic write-in votes cast. Robert V. Howard was the Republican nominee for Benezette Township Supervisor, 2-year term, with 20 write-in votes also cast. There were 36 Democratic write-in votes cast. Republican Cameron G. Uhl edged out Cheryl A. Ruffner for Fox Township Supervisor, with 15 write-in votes also cast. Democratic incumbent Randy Gradizzi won the nomination; There were also 69 write-ins cast on the Democratic ballot.There were 78 write-ins on the Republican side for Jay Township Supervisor; Jeremy M. Rippy beat out David Liptak for the Democratic nomination, with 1 write-in vote also cast. Pick up a copy of the Wednesday, May 18, 2011 edition of The Daily Press for extensive election coverage.