DuBois Beavers down Dutch wrestlers for 9-AAA title

DuBOIS - The DuBois Area Beavers wrestling squad captured the District 9-AAA team championship on Saturday by defeating the St. Marys Area Flying Dutch 55-13 in the title match held at the DuBois Area High School.“That was a tough match,” said St. Marys coach Dominic Surra. “We were certainly the underdogs today.”“We got experience wrestling in the championship match. Eleven of our 14 starters are either sophomores or freshmen,” said Surra.“DuBois wrestled well. We were going to wrestle our best against their best. Hopefully, we can build on this,” said the coach.“Now we have to go out and wrestle well in our last three matches,” added Surra. The Dutch have Punxsutawney, Redbank Valley and Bradford remaining on their dual meet schedule.Saturday’s action began at 120 pounds, where Dutchman Willie McGonnell recorded a 7-4 decision over Cody Cox to give the Dutch the early 3-0 lead.At 126 pounds, DuBois’ Andrew Williams pinned Dylan Smith at the 56-second mark of their match to give the Beavers the 6-3 lead. Garrett Brown of the Beavers recorded a 15-6 major decision over Alex Coudriet at 132 pounds, giving the Beavers the 10-3 lead.Dutchman Tyler Yetzer cut the DuBois lead to 10-9 when he pinned D.J. Carney at the 2:45 mark of their 138-pound match. Tom Sleigh gave DuBois the 14-9 lead as he recorded a 12-0 major decision over Sam Miller. At 152 pounds, Mike Kennelly decisioned a Alex Feldbauer by a 4-0 score. At 160 pounds, Geno Morelli of the Beavers pinned Bill Gabor at the 1:25 mark of their match as the Beavers led 23-9. DuBois’ Shane Marshall recorded a 16-0 technical fall over Josh Cameroni at the 5:34 mark of their 170-pound match as DuBois led 28-9.St. Marys’ Joe McLaughlin recorded a 12-3 major decision victory over Brady Haines at 182 pounds, cutting the DuBois lead to 28-13. At 195 pounds, DuBois’ Landon Hanna won by forfeit, 34-13. Kyle Dixon of DuBois pinned Brian Carnahan at the 46-second mark of their 285-pound match.At 106 pounds, DuBois’ Bryce Swauger pinned Ray Dent at the 48-second mark of their match. In the final event of the day, DuBois’ Anthony Vizza decisioned Evan Smith by a 4-3 score, making the final score 55-13 in favor of the Beavers.The Dutchmen, now 6-6 on the season, will return to action Wednesday when they travel to Punxsutawney to take on the Chucks.The Brookville Raiders won the District 9-AA team championship by defeating the Ridgway Elkers by a 36-33 score Saturday afternoon at DuBois.The results of Saturday’s AAA championship match follows:DuBois 55, St. Marys 13120 - Willie McGonnell - SM decisioned Cody Cox, 7-4.126 - Andrew Williams - D pinned Dylan Smith, :56.132 - Garrett Brown - D major decisioned Alex Coudriet, 15-6.138 - Tyler Yetzer - SM pinned D.J. Carney, 2:45.145 - Tom Sleigh - D major decisioned Sam Miller, 12-0.152 - Mike Kennelly - D decisioned Alex Feldbauer, 4-0.160 - Geno Morelli - D pinned Bill Gabor, 1:25.170 - Shane Marshal - D tech fall over Josh Cameroni, 16-0, 5:34.182 - Joe McLaughlin - SM major decisioned Brady Haines, 12-3.195 - Landon Hanna - D won by forfeit.220 - Nick Davido - D pinned Gary Fledderman, 4:42.285 - Kyle Dixon - D pinned Brian Carnahan, :53.106 - Bryce Swauger - D pinned Ray Dent, :48.113 - Anthony Vizza - D decisioned Evan Smith, 4-3.