Dutch wrestlers capture three D9 individual championships

CLARION - The St. Marys Area Flying Dutch wrestlers captured three individual District 9 Class AAA championships Saturday night at Clarion University’s Waldo Tippin Gymnasium.Michael Brennen at 160 pounds, Joe McLaughlin at 189 pounds and Kevin Hoy at 285 pounds, won their respective weight class titles and advance to this weekend’s Northwest Regional Tournament set for the Altoona Area High School Field House.Four other Dutch wrestlers will be joining the three champions at Altoona as the top three wrestlers in each weight class advance. Taking second place were Evan Smith at 119 pounds and Jimmy Antonelli at 215 pounds. Placing third were Alex Coudriet at 125 pounds and Sam Miller at 140 pounds.“I thought we wrestled better than our seeds. It’s real easy to come here (District tournament) and get caught up in it all. We had a lot of first-year kids in the finals and they did well,” said St. Marys coach Dominic Surra.“We finished the way I thought we would, but we wrestled well. We’re sending seven of 13 kids to the regionals, three as champions, two as runner-ups and two as third-place finishers. “Michael Brennen, the fourth seed, upset the number-one seed and that’s a big deal. Alex Feldbauer wrestled well for a freshman at 152, but lost in the consolation finals. We had a bunch of kids that wrestled real well this weekend and it was a team effort.”The day began at 112 pounds for the Dutch, where Trenton Bowers lost his first match by a 4-1 decision to Joel Bowers of Punxsutawney. In the consolations, Trenton won by injury default over Evan Smith of Bradford, then was pinned by Joel Bowers in the consolation finals.At 119 pounds, Evan Smith won his semifinal match by a 3-0 decision over Luke McMurtrie of Bradford to advance to the finals. In the championship match, Garrett Brown of DuBois decisioned Smith by an 8-1 score.At 125 pounds, Alex Coudriet lost his semifinal match to Matt Bussatto of DuBois by a 12-5 decision. In the consolations, Coudriet pinned Travis Laird of Bradford at the 4:07 mark of the consolation semifinals. In the consolation finals, Coudriet recorded a 15-0 technical fall over Frank Aveni of Clearfield at the 4:13 mark of their match.At 130 pounds, Bill Gabor pinned Dylan Zimmerman at the 1:10 mark of their quarterfinal match. In the semifinals, Gabor was pinned by Zach Britton of Bradford at the 1:21 mark. In the consolation finals, Neko Cappella of Punxsutawney pinned Gabor at the 46-second mark of their match.At 135 pounds, Darren Lyon reached the semifinals with an 8-4 decision over Troy Danver of Clearfield. In the semifinal, Lyon lost a 15-0 technical fall to Seth Spack of Punxsutawney. In the consolation final, Lyon lost a 4-0 decision to Ryan VanGuilder of Bradford.At 140 pounds, Sam Miller lost an 8-3 decision to Andrew Hill of Clearfield in the semifinals. In the consolation semifinals, Miller pinned Zane Drum of DuBois at the 53-second mark of their match. In the consolation finals, Miller pinned Caesar Maruca of Punxsutawney at the 3:25 mark.At 145 pounds, Allan Gursky pinned Josh Corignani of Bradford at the five-minute mark of their quarterfinal match. Gursky lost a 7-0 decision to Nathan McGregor of Punxsy in the semifinals. In the consolation finals, Gursky lost a 1-0 decision to Shane Harper of Clearfield.At 152 pounds, Alex Feldbauer was pinned at the 1:37 mark of his quarterfinal match by Cody Lansberry of Clearfield. In the consolation semifinal, Feldbauer recorded an 8-2 decision of Duell Thompson of Punxsy. In the consolation final, Lansberry decisioned Feldbauer by a 4-3 score.At 160 pounds, Michael Brennen pinned Cody Hepfer of Clearfield at the 3:35 mark of their quarterfinal match. In the semifinals, Brennen decisioned Carl Langley of Punxsy by a 12-7 score. In the finals, Brennen recorded a 6-4 decision over Dylan Lamberson of Bradford to win the title.At 171 pounds, Alex Geitner pinned Rob Hilfirty of Bradford at the 4:26 mark of their quarterfinal match. In the semifinals, Derek Danver of Clearfield pinned Geitner at the 4:24 mark. In the consolation finals, Geitner lost an 11-6 decision to Josh Neal of Punxsutawney.At 189 pounds, Joe McLaughlin won a 5-1 decision over Brady Haines of DuBois in the semifinals. In the finals, McLaughlin recorded an 11-7 decision over Tige Woodson of Punxsy to win the title.At 215 pounds, Jimmy Antonelli pinned Tyler Titus of Punxsy at the 1:48 mark of their semifinal match. In the finals, Cliff Hill of Clearfield pinned Antonelli at the 5:33 mark.At 285 pounds, Kevin Hoy recorded an 11-1 major decision over Dakota Sera of Bradford in the semifinals. In the finals, Hoy pinned Jordan Lancaster of Clearfield at the 55-second mark.The Class AAA Outstanding Wrestler was Mark Havers of Bradford, while the AAA Coach of the Year was Luke Bundy of DuBois.The Brookville Raiders won the Class AA team title with 197.5 points. Ridgway was second with 145 points. The AA Outstanding Wrestler was Jacob Shields of Brookville and the AA Coach of the Year was Dave Klepfer of Brookville.Class AAA Northwest Regional Wrestling begins Friday at 5 p.m. The Class AA Northwest Regional Tournament is set for Sharon High School.Class AAA team standings: DuBois 163.5, Clearfield 158, St. Marys 152.5, Punxsutanwey 111.4, Bradford 102.5Championship finals103 - Shane Peters - C pinned Bryce Swauger - D, 2:14.112 - Christian Stone - C decisioned Anthony Vizza - D, 8-2.119 - Garrett Brown - D decisioned Evan Smith - SM, 8-1.125 - Cody Young - P pinned Matt Bussatto - D, :54.130- Nolan Barger - C decisioned Zach Britton - B, 4-0.135 - Tom Sleigh - D decisioned Seth Spack - P, 2-0.140 - Matt Ostrander - B decisioned Andrew Hill - C, 3-0.145 - Chris Powers - D decisioned Nathan McGregor - P, 6-2.152 - Mark Havers - B decisioned Geno Morelli - D, 3-1 OT160 - Michael Brennen - SM decisioned Dylan Lamberson, 6-4.171 - Joe Morrison - D decisioned Derek Danver - C.189 - Joe McLaughlin - SM decisioned Tige Woodson - P, 11-7.215 - Cliff Hill - C pinned Jimmy Antonelli - SM, 5:33.285 - Kevin Hoy - SM pinned Jordan Lancaster - B, :55.Consolation finals103 - Josh Shuckers - P places third.112 - Joel Bowers - P pinned Trenton Bowers - SM, 4:03.119 - Luke McMurtrie - B pinned Dylan Graham - C, :57.125 - Alex Coudriet - SM technical fall over Frank Aveni - C, 15-0, 4:13.130 - Neko Cappella - P pinned Bill Gabor, :46.135 - Ryan VanGuilder - B decisioned Darren Lyon - SM, 4-0.140 - Sam Miller - SM pinned Caesar Maruca - P, 3:25.145 - Shane Harper - C decisioned Allan Gursky - SM, 1-0.152 - Cody Lansberry - C decisioned Alex Feldbauer, 4-3.160 - Mike Kennelly - D decisioned Carl Langley - P, 3-2.171 - Josh Neal - P decisioned Alex Geitner - SM, 11-6.189 - Brady Haines - D pinned Francis Durnein - B, 1:56.215 - Austin Barr - D pinned Dan Kline - B, 2:00.285 - Dakota Sera - B decisioned Nate Petitti -D, 5-1.