Dutch wrestlers close out regular season with 66-15 win over Bradford

The St. Marys Area Flying Dutch wrestling squad closed out their regular season Thursday evening by defeating the Bradford Owls by a 66-15 score at the SMAHS Dutch Oven on Senior Night.The Dutchmen finished the season with a 7-8 record.St. Marys won seven matches by forfeit last night. They also won four bouts by pin.“The kids that wrestled wrestled pretty well,” said St. Marys coach Dominic Surra.“We’ve seen how far some of our kids have come. Gary Fledderman is wrestling well and Brian Carnahan is relearning the sport. He hasn’t wrestled since elementary school,” said Surra.“Starting next week it’s all about Districts with the seed meeting Tuesday night. We will train for the District 9 tournament and make our best preparation we can for the tournament,” said Surra.“It was a good end for our seniors,” he added.The match began at 120 pounds, where Dutchman Willie McGonnell won by forfeit. SMA’s Dylan Smith won by forfeit at 126 pounds, giving the Dutch the 12-0 lead. Bradford’s Zach Britton made the score 12-4 with a 9-1 major decision over Alex Coudriet. Dutchman Sam Miller won by forfeit at 138 pounds, 18-4. Ryan Vanguilder of the Owls recorded a 15-0 technical fall over Tyler Yetzer at the 5:41 mark of their 145-pound match.Alex Feldbauer of the Dutch pinned Dustin Coles at the 44-second mark of their 152-pound match. Josh Cameroni of the Dutch won by forfeit at 160 pounds as the Dutch opened a 30-9 lead. Bradford’s Dylan Lamberson pinned Ben Cheatle at the 4:53 mark of their 170-pound match to make the score 30-15.The Dutch won the final six bouts. At 182 pounds, Derek Taylor won by forfeit. At 192 pounds, Joe McLaughlin pinned Kyle Langdon at the 3:03 mark, 42-15. Gary Fledderman pinned Zach Zawatski at 220 pounds and Brian Carnahan pinned Bryce Whitman at the 44-second mark at 285 pounds to give SMA the 54-15 lead.Ray Dent at 106 pounds and Evan Smith at 113 pounds won by forfeit for the Dutch, making the final score 66-15.The senior members of the squad, along with their parents, were recognized in pre-match ceremonies. Senior members of the Dutch squad are Sam Miller, Evan Smith, Ben Cheatle and Kenneth Stage.The SMA wrestlers return to action on Saturday, Feb. 25 when they will compete in the District 9-AAA individual tournament scheduled for Clarion University.The results of last night’s varsity bouts are as follows:St. Marys 66, Bradford 15120 - Willie McGonnell - SM won by forfeit.126 - Dylan Smith - SM won by forfeit.132 - Zach Britton - B major decision over Alex Coudriet, 9-1.138 - Sam Miller - SM won by forfeit.145 - Ryan Vanguilder - B technical fall over Tyler Yetzer, 15-0, 5:41.152 - Alex Feldbauer - SM pinned Dustin Coles, :44.160 - Josh Cameroni - SM won by forfeit.170 - Dylan Lamberson - B pinned Ben Cheatle, 4:53.182 - Derek Taylor - SM won by forfeit.195 - Joe McLaughlin - SM pinned Kyle Langdon, 3:03.220 - Gary Fledderman - SM pinned Zach Zawatski, 2:22.285 - Brian Carnahan - SM pinned Bryce Whitman, :44.106 - Ray Dent - SM won by forfeit.113 - Evan Smith - SM won by forfeit.