Dutchman Joe McLaughlin wins AAA title at 182 pounds

SMA sending seven wrestlers to NW RegionalCLARION - St. Marys Area wrestler Joe McLaughlin won the District 9-AAA 182-pound weight class championship Saturday at the District 9-AAA Individual Championships held at Clarion University’s Waldo Tippin Gymnasium.The Dutchmen of coach Dominic Surra will be sending seven wrestlers to the AAA Northwest Regional Tournament scheduled for Friday and Saturday at the Altoona Area High School Field House.Joining McLaughlin will be second-place finishers Evan Smith at 113 pounds, Sam Miller at 138 pounds, Josh Cameroni at 160 pounds and Gary Fledderman at 220 pounds, along with third-place finishers Alex Coudriet at 132 pounds and Alex Feldbauer at 152 pounds.The top three wrestlers in each weight class qualified for the Northwest Regional.“For the most part we pretty much wrestled our seeds. We did about all we could do,” said Surra. “Joey McLaughlin wrestled well at 182 pounds. He is certainly capable of making some noise at the next level and Gary Fledderman at 220 pounds has improved.” “We got some experience today. We have seven or eight guys who have never been here before and it’s a different atmosphere,” said Surra. “The guys in the finals fought tooth and nail.” McLaughlin only had to wrestle one match on Saturday, that being the championship match as he entered as the top seed with a 20-8 record. In the championship match he pinned Josh Neal of Punxsutawney at the 3:41 mark to win the crown.Evan Smith started his day at 113 pounds by recording a 7-3 decision over Joel Bowers of Punxsy to advance to the finals. In the finals, Smith lost an 8-4 decision to Anthony Vizza of DuBois.Sam Miller won his first match of the day at 138 pounds by pinning D.J. Carney of DuBois at the 49-second mark of their semifinal match. In the title match, Perry Arrington of Punxsy recorded a 6-3 decision over Miller.Josh Cameroni won his semifinal match at 160 pounds by recording an 8-0 major decision over Kody Hepfer of Clearfield. In the finals, Cameroni was pinned by Shane Marshall at the 3:05 mark.Gary Fledderman recorded an 11-3 major decision over Tyler Titus of Punxsutawney. In the championship match, Nick Davido of DuBois edged Fledderman, 7-6.At 106 pounds, Ray Dent of the Dutch was pinned by DuBois’ Bryce Swauger in the semifinals. In the consolation finals, Andrew Bullers of Punxsy pinned Dent at the 1:09 mark.At 120 pounds, Willie McGonnell of the Dutch was pinned by Luke McMurtrie of Bradford at the 49-second mark of their semifinal match. In the consolations, McGonnell recorded an 8-0 decision over Kody Cox of DuBois. In the consolation finals, Devan Snyder of Punxsy pinned McGonnell at the 1:30 mark.At 126 pounds, Dutchman Dylan Smith recorded a 10-0 major decision over Travis Laird of Bradford in the opening round. In the semifinals, Smith was pinned by DuBois’ Garrett Brown at the 1:50 mark. In the consolation finals, Smith lost a 7-0 decision to Josh Schuckers of Punxsy.At 145 pounds, Dutchman Tyler Yetzer was pinned by Clearfield’s Nolan Barger at the 43-second mark of their semifinal match. In the consolation finals, Yetzer lost a 16-0 technical fall to Ryan VanGuilder of Bradford at the 3:37 mark.At 170 pounds, Dutchman Bill Gabor was pinned by DuBois’ Geno Morelli at the 1:42 mark of their semifinal match. In the consolation finals, Dylan Lamberson of Bradford pinned Gabor at the 3:36 mark.At 195 pounds, Derek Taylor of the Dutch was pinned by DuBois’ Landon Hanna at the 55-second mark of their semifinal match. In the consolation final, Devin Sinclair of Clearfield recorded a 12-4 major decision over Taylor.At 285 pounds, Mike Wolfel of the Dutch was pinned by DuBois’ Kyle Dixon at the 1:42 mark of their semifinal match. In the consolation finals, Dakota Sera of Bradford pinned Wolfel at the 18-second mark of their match.The DuBois Beavers won the Class AAA team title with 188.5 points followed by Punxsutawney 132, St. Marys 128, Clearfield 122 and Bradford 84.5 points.DuBois’ Luke Bundy was named the AAA coach of the year. Tom Sleigh of DuBois was chosen the outstanding wrestler. He wrestled at 145 pounds.The AA coach of the year was Dave Klepfer of Brookville. Brock Zacherl of Brookville was the AA outstanding wrestler. He wrestled at 138 pounds.Brookville won the AA team title with 219.5 points. Ridgway was second with 160 points, followed by Redbank Valley 139, Kane 121, Port Allegany 87, Smethport 81.5, Curwensville 64.5, Oswayo Valley 63, Cameron County 58, Coudersport 58, Brockway 46, Cranberry 43, Clarion 30.5, Johnsonburg 20, Keystone 20 and Sheffield 18.Team results: DuBois 188.5, Punxsutawney 132, St. Marys 128, Clearfield 122, Bradford 84.5Championship finals106 - Bryce Swauger - D decisioned Noah Cline - C, 5-0.113 - Anthony Vizza -D decisioned Evan Smith - SM, 8-4.120 - Christian Stone - C pinned Luke McMurtrie - B, 4:56.126 - Dylan Graham - C decisioned Garrett Brown - D, 2-1 TB.132 - Zach Britton - B decisioned Neko Cappella - P, 5-3.138 - Perry Arrington - P decisioned Sam Miller - SM, 6-3.145 - Tom Sleigh - D decisioned Nolan Barger - C, 4-2 OT152 - Seth Spack - P major decision over Mike Kennelly - D, 12-3.160 - Shane Marshall - D pinned Josh Cameroni - SM, 3:08.170 - Geno Morelli - D technical fall over Carl Langley - P, 19-3, 4:45.182 - Joe McLaughlin - SM pinned Josh Neal - P, 3:41.195 - Landon Hanna - D pinned Kyle Langdon - Bradford, :38.220 - Nick Davido - D decisioned Gary Fledderman - SM, 7-6.285 - Kyle Dixon - D decisioned Jordan Lancaster - C, 2-1.Consolation finals106 - Andrew Bullers - P pinned Ray Dent - SM, 1:09.113 - No match. Joel Bullers advances.120 - Devin Snyder - P pinned Willie McGonnell - SM, 1:30.126 - Josh Schuckers - P decisioned Dylan Smith - SM, 7-0.132 - Alex Coudriet - SM major decision over Frank Aveni - C, 12-0.138 - Jake Lancaster - C pinned D.J. Carney - D, 3:53.145 - Ryan VanGuilder - B technical fall over Tyler Yetzer - SM, 16-0, 3:37.152 - Alex Feldbauer - SM pinned Mike Beck - C, 3:38.160 - Kody Hepfer - C pinned Tanner James - P, 3:24.170 - Dylan Lamberson - B pinned Bill Gabor - SM, 3:36.182 - Brady Haines - D takes third place.195 - Devin Sinclair - C major decision over Derek Taylor - SM, 12-4.220 - Tyler Titus - P pinned Zach Zawatski - B, 2:38.285 - Kyle Dixon - D decisioned Jordan Lancester - C, 2-1.