Elk Catholic cross country teams notch wins

The Elk County Catholic cross country teams played host to the Brockway, Kane and DuBois Central teams Tuesday at Benzinger Park.The Crusaders won all three of their meets, beating Brockway 17-40, Kane 17-42 and DuBois Central 15-47. The Lady Crusaders defeated Brockway 21-35. Those were the only two complete girls’ teams.Harley Thompson of ECC won the boys’ race with a time of 17:16. His teammates Caleb Lecker and Rob Prokop were second and third in 17:56 and 18:52, respectively. Cody Anderson of Brockway was fourth in 18:56, followed by Nathan Moore of Kane in fifth in 19:19.Ryan Detsch and Joe Hoffman of the Crusaders were sixth and seven in 19:20 and 19:22, respectively. Cody Steele and Jake Rogos of Brockway were eighth and ninth in 19:30 and 19:34. Ben Crowe of Elk Catholic rounded out the top ten in 19:52.Nick Erich of the Crusaders was 23rd in 21:12, Peter Cooney was 26th in 21:31 and Wesley Brennen was 32nd in 22:42.Kennedy Weisner of the Lady Crusaders won the girls’ race in 19:55. Taylor Beimel of Kane was second in 21:19. Maggie Sorg of ECC was third in 21:27, with Zoe Hawkins of Brockway taking fourth in 21:36 and Cassie Thompson of ECC rounding out the top five in 22:26.Brittany Hindman of Brockway was sixth in 22:49, followed by Tess Onink of Elk Catholic in seventh place in 24:58. Lexi Hanes of Brockway was eighth in 25:16, followed by Hannah Pontzer of ECC in ninth in 25:37 and Laura Felczak of Brockway rounding out the top ten in 25:45.Kaitlyn O’Hara of ECC was 11th in 25:45. Elk’s Jess Franco was 16th in 27:49.The Elk Catholic teams return to action Saturday when they participate in the Rocky Grove Invitational.Jr. high meetsDrew Bille and Victoria Dippold won their respective junior high cross country meets Tuesday.Bille won the boys’ race with a time of 9:09. Mason Lindenmuth of Brockway was second in 9:29 and John Kaul of ECC was third in 9:57, followed by teammate Luke Hoffman in fourth place in 10:30. Jack Bell of Brockway took fifth in 10:38.Elk’s Scottie Brazinski was seventh in 10:56. Duncan LaVelle of ECC was 10th in 12:31.Dippold won the girls’ race in 10:08. Celeste Pearce of Brockway was second in 11:19. Allison Prokop of ECC was third in 11:20.