SMA’s Hansen and Wiesner win D9-AA doubles crown

The St. Marys Area duo of Nathan Hansen and Dylan Wiesner captured the District 9 Class AA Doubles Tennis Tournament held Friday at DuBois Area High School.Hansen and Wiesner defeated teammates Thomas Murmann and Keith Meyer in the championship match in three sets. Hansen and Wiesner won the first set 6-4. Murmann and Meyer won the second set 7-6 (8-6). The third set went to Hansen and Wiesner 7-6 (9-7).“The boys played the best District 9 match in history. It came down to a third-set tiebreaker with Nate and Dylan winning 8-6. People watching said it was the best match they ever watched,” said St. Marys coach Sue Lepovetsky. “This is Dylan’s and Nathan’s third time winning the District 9 Doubles Championship, which is again historic.“St. Marys Area had a great year and I couldn’t have asked for a finer bunch of young men, all of the team members, to coach,” added Lepovetsky. I can’t be more proud of each one of them on how well they played each and every match today.” Hansen and Wiesner defeated Elk Catholic’s Scott Krellner and Darren Simons 6-0, 6-0 in the quarterfinals. In the semifinals they defeated Brockway’s Noah Serafini and Joe Britton 6-0, 6-0 to advance to the finals.Murmann and Meyer reached the finals by defeating Elk Catholic’s Ben Wortman and Shane Mancuso 7-6 (7-4), 6-3 in the quarterfinals. In the semifinals, Murmann and Meyer defeated DuBois Central’s David Gangewere and Kevin Blakely of DuBois Central 6-3, 4-6, 6-3.Hansen and Wiesner now advance to the PIAA Class AA Doubles Tournament scheduled for May 27 and 28 at the Hershey Racquet Club. They will join their teammate Brandon Romain, who won the District 9-AA Singles Tourney.The results from Friday’s 9-AA matches follow:First roundKrellner/Simons - ECC defeated Joe Aravich/Jake Peck - DCC, 6-4, 6-2.Jesse Powers/Alec Bouch - Brockway defeated Shane Bickford/Jon Carnovale - Johnsonburg 6-2, 4-6, 7-6 (7-4).QuarterfinalsHansen/Wiesner defeated Krellner/Simons 6-0, 6-0.Serafini/Britton of Brockway defeated John Paul Allegretto and Mason Martonik of Johnsonburg, 6-2, 4-6, 6-2.Gangewere/Blakely - DCC defeated Powers/ Bouch 6-1, 6-0.Murmann/Meyer defeated Wortman/Mancuso 7-6 (7-4), 6-3.SemifinalsHansen/Wiesner defeated Serafini/Britton 6-0, 6-0.Murmann/Meyer defeated Gangewere/Blakely 6-3, 4-6, 6-1.FinalsHansen/Wiesner defeated Murmann/Meyer 6-4, 6-7 (8-6), 7-6 (9-7).In Class AAA, Punxsutawney’s Michael Blose and Tim Pearce won the title by defeating Dave Roberts and Brandon Bish of Punxsutawney 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 in the finals.