Smallbore hunting rifle holds second day of competition

The NRA National Smallbore hunting rifle competition continued Monday in the second day of three days of shooting. Gabriel Guerra (Monterrey, Mexico) was the match winner on Monday with a score of 37. Susan Peery (Churchton, Mass.) was second overall at 37 and Mallory Nichols (Fort Smith, Ark.) was third with a 36. In master class, Laura Goetsch (Whites Creek, Tenn.) was the winner with a 36. Kenneth M. Haupricht (Johnsonburg) was second with a 36 and Cathy Winstead-Severin (Joplin, Mo.) was third with a 36. Lee O'Neil (Brush, Colo.) took fourth with a score of 35 and Alan Bruce Finley (Calhoun, La.) placed fifth at 35. Dennis Martinen (Yakima, Wash.) placed sixth with a score of 35 and Anthony Finn (Bracken Ridge, Australia) was seventh at 34. Mark Pharr (Round Rock, Texas) was eighth at 34 while Scott Pierce (Lewistown) was ninth with a mark of 34. Enrique Kuess Jr. (Laredo, Texas) was 10th with a score of 34. David Leedy (Rebersburg) was the AAA class winner with a score of 31. Angelica Kuess Davila (Laredo, Texas) was second at 31 and Kevin Burge (Terra Alta, W. Va.) was third at 30. Jason Peterson (Bell Buckle, Tenn.) was fourth at 30 and Steve Bonson (Reedsville) was fifth at 29. Richard Franke (Clinton Township, Mich.) was sixth at 28. Kelly Engel (Brighton, Mass.) was seventh at 28. Enrique Kuess Sr. (Laredo, Texas) was eighth at 27 and David Gillispie (Reedsville, W. Va.) was ninth with a 27. Jorge Moreno (Saltillo, Mexico) was the AA class winner with a mark of 30. Patrick Petrillo (Hollywood, Fla.) was second at 27 and Sue Critz (El Paso, Texas) was third with a score of 27. Tyler Bonson (Reedsville, Pa.) was fourth with a score of 24 and Kathryn Grigg took fifth with a 24. In sixth place was Mark Latham (Washington, Mo.) with a 24 and Tommy Peery (Center, Mo.) was seventh at 22. Richard "Mickey" McBride (Erie) was eighth at 21 and Hartwell Stoneham (Fredericksburg, Va.) placed ninth at 20. David True (Canberra, Australia) rounded out the top 10 with a score of 20. Nick Opperman (Lalucia, Durban, South Africa) was the A class winner with a 24. Duane Burleson (Sterling Heights, Mich.) was second with a 23 and Deon Germishuizen (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) was third with a 21. Alex Pierce (Lewistown) was fourth with a 21 and Kelli Grim (Clarksburg, Md.) was fifth with a 21. Leroy Brunner Jr. (Severna Park, Md.) was the B class winner with a 16. The third and final day of competition starts at 9 a.m. Tuesday morning.

Local Social Media Posts